Grades encourage students to learn. Do you agree or disagree?

As our contemporary education continues to develop, grade has always become a hotly debate topic at school. In my opinion, I believe that grades encourage students to learn. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, grades motivate students to study his courses seriously and deeply. When a student knows that he will receive marks for his courses, he will concentrate very much on the lectures at school as well as will invest more time for the assignments to be able to get a score as highly as possible. As a result, he will gain a completely understanding of the topic he is studying. In the contrary, a student who is in a class without grade will achieve a superficial knowledge of his class. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In the sophomore year of my university, my English teacher decided that 40% of the total grade would be the participating score for the class. As I remember, before that class I was a very passive student. Although I was a good student, I just preferred to listen to the teachers’ lessons all the time without engaging to any discussions in the class. But because of the new rule for the grade from my English class, it forced me to overcome my shyness to taking part in every discussion enthusiastically. Consequently, I was a very active student from that time, and of course, I got a very high score in that class. For this reason, I believe it is very beneficial to offer students grades at school.

Secondly, grade work as an objective indication for a student to know how well he is learning in the class. In fact, this means that If a student receives a low score, he will recognize that he need to work harder to master his studying. On the other hand, when a learner just study without having any tests or examinations, it would be hard for him to know what the level of his understanding for the class is. For example, when I was in my math class at the freshman year, I did not spend lots of time to do the homework, whereas I was very confident with my excellent number ability from high school. Ultimately, my point was just enough to pass the course. If that course is a pass/ fail class, I did not know what my real score was. From that moment, I reminded myself that I need to effort my best all the time when I study at school or do anything in life. Accordingly, I think that it is very necessary for student to get a grade at school.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades motivate students to learn. This is because grades promote young leaner to work harder, and because they are a clear pointer for students to study diligently to master his knowledge in university.