Grades encourage students to learn. Do you agree or disagree?

Grades have become a hotly debated topic in schools today. In my opinion, I believe that grades encourage students to learn. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, grades motivate students to study course material seriously and deeply. When a student knows what he will be evaluated on for his courses, he will concentrate very much on the lectures at school as well as invest more time on the assignments to be able to get a score as highly as possible. As a result, he will gain a more complete understanding of the topic that he is studying. On the contrary, a student who is in a class without grades will achieve only a superficial knowledge of his class. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In my sophomore year in college, an English teacher decided that 40% of the total grade would be from participation in class. Before this class, I was a very passive student. Although I was a good student, I just preferred to listen to the teacher all the time without engaging in any discussions in class because I was not rewarded or punished with grades. Because of the new rule for the grade from my English class, it forced me to overcome my shyness to enthusiastically take part in every discussion. Consequently, I was a henceforth a very active student, and of course, I received very high scores in that class. For this reason, I believe it is very beneficial to offer students grades at school.

Second, grades work as an objective indication for a student to know how well he is learning in the class and can be compared with the scores of other students. In fact, this means that if a student receives a low score, he will recognize that he needs to work harder to master the course material. On the other hand, when a learner just studies without having any tests or examinations, it would be hard for him to know what level of his understanding that he has achieved. For example, when I was in a math class in my Freshman college year, I did not spend much time to do the homework, whereas I was very confident with my excellent mathematical ability from high school. Ultimately, my test scores were just enough to pass the course. If that course would have been a pass/fail class, I would not have known what my real score was. From that moment forward, I reminded myself that I need to give my best effort all the time when I study at school or do anything in life. Accordingly, I think that it is very necessary for student to get grades at school.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades motivate students to learn. This is because grades promote learners to work harder, and because they are a clear benchmarks for students to study diligently to master the knowledge.