if you are required to give feedback about your classmates/colleagues (work or performance), would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first?

Without a doubt, people could create a dialogue with others, and they could give feedback to each other and help themselves to flourish. From my perspective, it is preferable to give positive comments first rather than negative comments. There are numerous reasons to support my opinion, among which two stand out.

First and foremost, by indicating the positive traits of a person, people could prepare an appropriate condition to critique be accepted by other people in continue. To be more specific, people constantly have carved to see a good opinion about themselves from others, which, in turn, give them a satisfying feeling about themselves. Therefore, when telling good things about them, they do not resist accepting your negative opinion. On the contrary, if people receive critique first, they will guard against the critic. This is because they think people criticize them intentionally and on an unfair basis. As a result, it makes it hard for them to accept the negative comments. Thereby, by telling their good first, they could prepare themselves mentally to give effective negative feedback.

Second, when telling the good features of other people, they give a great feeling about it which help people to improve their strengths. After telling good features, we could tell weaknesses, which people could work on them, without getting upset from us. A personal example would derive this notion home. Years ago, we got together with our university friends, and we started to give feedback to each other. At first, it was just fun, but my friends got serious and just gave negative comments to each other. Things got worse and caused friction between the guys. Having finished the party, friends got upset with each other, and some of them cut off their relationships. Consequently, had my friends not just critiqued each other, they would not have broken off their relationships.

To sum up, considering the reasons and the examples mentioned above, I believe that people must give good comments first, then say adverse opinions about other people. This is because not only do people tend to listen to the positive things about themselves, then they prepare to hear opposite comments, but they also get an excellent feeling when they hear good about themselves.