To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors.

In recent years, a heated discussion about whether the quality of tertiary education can be improved by raising salaries of professors. My perspective is that higher salaries could be a strong incentive to professors, thus they may make every effort to get the job.

Firstly, an increase in salary can appeal to more talents with profound academic knowledge to choose this profession. To be more specific, it is in human being’s nature to make more money. professors also have the desire for higher salary. As is shown in a survey, majority of teachers claim that they prefer working with a competitive salary.

Therefore, universities which lavish professors with high payment tend to recruit teachers owning a lot of knowledge in this field. As a consequence, the beneficial effect of teaching will be produced, and the quality of education will be raised.

Secondly, a higher income also plays a significant role after introducing fully-fledged professors. Initially, provided that professors are rendered high salaries, they can get rid of daily trifles in lives through purchasing advanced home appliances sold at exorbitant price, or hiring others to tackle housework, instead of being obstructed by these household chores. Hence, more time could be available for them to delve into education. professors can discover the shortages in teaching and compensate them by absorbing new pedagogical methods, then make progress in teaching.

Thirdly, in order to get the higher quality of education than before, teachers need to take courses of teaching methods which require quite a lot of fees. Only professors who receive a high salary could afford these courses. Imagine a stingy university which does not pay professors a lot, teachers may be lack of opportunities to take courses and have no idea improving themselves with a pittance.

Nevertheless, it is worthless for professors who are enjoying the high salary before to enhance the quality of education by increasing the payment. Under this circumstance, universities ought to spur teachers for the further education of teaching. also, more practices should be given to these professors.

All in all, I stand for the idea that higher salaries could make great contribution to the quality of education, due to the attraction of new teachers, the support for senior professors and opportunities for courses of teaching skills.