Independent writing TPO 51

In this modern era, people are surrounded with technology in every sphere of their lives. Television broadcasts and movies are most people’s choice for their leisure time at weekend. The question we might address is that whether it is a good idea for youngsters to spend their free time watching movies or not. From my perspective, I think watching movies will not be a suitable choice for young people for the following reasons: it lowers their brain activity, Makes them have some unrealistic expectation from life, and is harmful for their physical health.

First and foremost, watching media will reduce the brain activity, and constantly it will affect our mental health. According to a research done by a group of scientists in England. They believe watching scenes will affect the way brain cells work and eventually end having some mental disorders. They think watching movies is probably one of the main reasons for having depression and feel exhausted and even make them feel alone.

Secondly, I believe watching soap operas and movies which concentrate on luxury life style will affect teenagers expectations from life. They will probably start thinking that they can have the same lifestyle doing same things. Eventually they will end up broken hearted and hopeless when they experience failure as they probably forget the fact that they have to put all their energy in order to be successful. For example, I was once reading an article written by a famous billionaire in which he was pointing out his success and he said the key to his triumph was those hours spent at the office trying to solve an issue about a project. While watching biography movies, you will never feel the effort they put to their work.

Last but not least, nowadays people are mostly doing office jobs doing same tasks every day, and seating in a chair watching movies will increase the chances of getting fat, having pain in different part of their bodies like their knees and their back, having a bad posture day by day. I had a friend who was a bank clerk, having a solid job and watching movies as a habit eventually made her to go to doctor. She had problem doing her tasks at work because of her backache and the doctor advised her to change her habits in order to have healthy life style.

To sum up, according to the mentioned reasons I believe spending time in front of the television will have bad effects far beyond our imagination. Having some healthy habits will help us to maintain a better life being active and fit.