It is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one’s own family

In modern society, the employment of college students, especially those fresh graduates whose family members run a business, has drawn more and more attention of the society. Some people appreciate that it is beneficial to work for others for improving their independence. Contrary to the view is my perspective that it is more appropriate to work for their own family, for the following reasons.

To begin with, working for their own family has beneficial impacts on their personal development, which is of paramount importance to their future life. For one thing, since it is their own enterprise, that is to say, they can choose whatever they like to do. Under this circumstance, not only will they work happily and easily due to the interests, but they will also be able to focus on their career totally, which lays a solid foundation for personal future development. For another, their family enterprise makes a particular development plan for them, which means they get more exercise opportunities to improve themselves. To be more specific, they can travel for business more frequently, attend professional industry conferences, interact with senior experts, therefore giving rise to an improvement of knowledge, expansion of social networks, and accumulation of experience. All of these are a huge personal boost in the profession, which is more valuable for a youth. In contrast, in most general companies, these high-quality resources will not be concentrated in only one person.

In addition, working for own family gives people more freedom and ease. Due to their own enterprise, working hours are freer. They can determine their commute and workload to some extent. Thus, they can balance their family and life better. Only in this way can one enjoy their work and happy life. Here comes a concrete example about my friend Job who works in his parents’ company, and once his wife wanted to go to Switzerland to see the splendid snow mountains. As a result, he agreed and went there immediately. During the month of the trip, they left a precious memory together and deepened their relationship. However, if they work for someone else, this is absolutely not going to happen for no boss allows employees to leave such a long time so suddenly. We colleague all act him as a winner of life.

Hence, from what has been discussed above, I draw a conclusion that it is wise to work for their own family as it is advantageous for them to have better personal development and more freedom and ease.