It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Knowledge and experience are the two faces of a coin. They both are equally important and play a pivotal role in our lives. The knowledge described as the information acquired by a person through education or experience. Whereas, the experience is defined as knowledge obtained by the practical attempt. Personally, I believe that knowledge gained from experience is more important because it brings better insight into knowledge and life. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the essay.

First of all, the knowledge gained from the book is an important factor which prepares our mind for upcoming circumstances. However, these are theoretical knowledge which is transient. It is a human tendency they grasp more from practical events. Moreover, experiences are acquired from the trial and error method and making mistakes lead person one more step closer to success. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About three months ago, I read the Texas driver license book. The insight about traffic rules and regulations. After the written exam, I was required to give the practical driving test and I failed the exam because it was completely different than the previous exam. Later, I realized it is not about how much knowledge we retain but it is about how our brain tends to react in certain situations.

Secondly, experience grabbed from reality teach us to encounter a difficult situation. The knowledge from books provides us direction. Whereas, real experiences help us to plan and make strategies to diminish the complexity of life and move ahead. Take an instance, there are myriads of books on law and rights are available in the world. We all have a basic idea of our fundamental rights and every one of us has experienced racist or offensive comment about the body, color, and accent, etc. Everyone handles such a situation differently. Therefore, it is important to have experience in life.

In conclusion, I am in the opinion of getting knowledge from experience. This is because of knowledge from books are limited and experiences broaden the thinking of the individuals.