leader should make own decisions or that of the people

A leader is someone who represents the ideology of the people in the society.

This answer can vary for different people as it depends on a lot of factors. Concerning my perception, I would acknowledge the person as a leader if he has the potential to coincide with his decisions with the ideology of other people.

A leader's sole purpose to make the society a better place by listening to the problems faced by the commoners. For example, a farmer has a problem with his landlord as he is unable to pay up the corresponding month's rent. The farmer might be at fault. Even though the leader knows that the farmer is at fault, he has to give the farmer a chance to extend the date to repay the money.

Another quality that the leader has to possess is the ability to win an argument. For example, the government has asked the entire village to relocate due to a high way project. But the representative is unwilling to let this happen as harvesting of crops is what feeds the entire nation. Even though the leader is morally on higher ground, the villagers are willing to take this offer as they would like to start fresh as there was no proper harvest for the last 2 years. It would be easy to deny the offer out rightly but as the villagers do not know the reason they might lose the faith in him. In this case, I would call a person as a leader if he would carefully lay out the pros and cons of the change the villagers would undergo and give them the decision.

Therefore, in my view, it takes a true leader to represent the need of the people.