Many filmmakers made movies based on books. When a movie is produced based on books, some people prefer to read books before watching films, other people choose to watch movie first. What do you think?

Nowadays, the film is an art form to represent a lot of fictional worlds, and most of the director prefers to make movies based on the novels. Although some people prefer to go to the cinema first then reading the original book when they back home. In my view, reading books first is better than watching the movie first. My opinion is based on artistical, personal and financial reasons.

Artistically, reading original versions can bring more imagination to the reader. For instance, when you are reading Harry Potter, you will dive in the book and imagine how the magic world looks like, how the professors look like, if the Dumbledore looks like your grandfather or Hermione looks like your desk mate who is the most genius girl in your classroom. All these things are just as you envision, but it will be limited when you watch a movie first. Because all the scenes have been filmed by the director, it is no doubt that an excellent film will present a wonderful world for the audiences, but these fixed pictures will emerge when you read the original books later. And the pictures in each person's mind are different, art is exactly what these words are converted into.

From a personal perspective, each of us has critical thinking about something, for example, you will have the personal understanding when you finished one book, then if this book has a chance to be filmed, you will glad to watch it compare your personal views. In spite of, there will be some contradictory views, even worse you will think if the director's shooting method is problematic to make the plot of the novel. But from my own perspective, these negative comments are not bad things. Depending on these criticisms, the film industry can have better development and the audience will be better at thinking.

Financially-speaking, the books are much cheaper than one movie ticket, that means if you do not like these books, you will not go to watch the movie and save one ticket for yourself, why not use this money to buy another book or have a delicious meal?

In another way, if you do not enjoy the book, you can give it to your friend as a gift, it is not a kind of waste and your friend may like it. In contrast, you can only choose to stay in the cinema or waste movie tickets.