More educators these days are using technology in the classroom. In fact, many teachers now record their lectures, upload them on a website, and ask students to watch them before their lesson. During class, students report on the lectures and discuss them together. Would you prefer to have a traditional style class or one where the lectures are pre-recorded?

It is argued that more teachers integrate technology into the classroom, making the educational process more interactive. No doubt digital technologies can enhance learning through accessing information and improving communication, as well as providing self-directed and collaborative learning opportunities. Nonetheless, lecturers may have difficulty adjusting to a novel method which can affect both the teaching style and its efficacy.

Indeed, viewing recorded material provides more opportunities for interaction during class time. Since students can preview course material or information-based tutorials in their own time, topics are illuminated during contact time by means of debates, interaction, and more in-depth exploration of themes and better quality debates. In surveys on student perceptions conducted in a number of American universities and colleges, the majority of respondents felt that such an approach added value to their courses. These results prove that recorded lectures offer a study aid that is second to none.

Furthermore, it is ideal for distance learning students, part-time students, and international students. By providing the flexibility to watch the recorded lecture from any location, whenever they like, students have much more control over their learning. A good example could a foreigner who is taking a course taught in English, which he or she is not fluent enough to catch everything the first time around. This fact only confirms the added value of the lecture capture method.

However, there are concerns about whether not tech-savvy instructors will cope and whether the prerecorded lectures will be quality. In fact, the transition from old school lecturing to online can be tough for lecturers, who would have to spend hours on editing in order to smooth out bloopers rather than on the research or on the interaction with students. Without addressing these concerns, we risk creating a generation of students ill-prepared for a digital future.

All in all, lecture capture enhances the student experience and provides a forum for animated get-togethers that allow participants to delve deep into academic issues, as well as to assimilate knowledge better. Nevertheless, poor integration of technologies in the classroom, including recording lectures, may undermine the very purpose of education. As a business genius, industrial designer, and co-founder of Apple Steve Jobs said, “Technology is nothing. What is important is that you have a faith in people, that they’re basically good and smart, and if you give them tools, they’ll do wonderful things with them.” So, I would stay with the old school, time-proven method, supplemented by the lecture capture option.