Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Teamwork, a crucial way of education in the classroom, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over whether or not all students in the same group receive identical grades. Giving the same score, in some people's view, is a beneficial method to evaluate students. Contrary to those people's opinion is my perspective that students working on the same project in a group should receive different grades, due to the contributions to academic performance and personal development.

What must be prioritized is that different marks, instead of the same grades, given to students among their group improve students' academic ability by enlarging their knowledge base and boosting their motivation to study. Initially, only receiving a higher grade can encourage students to learn more stuff through teamwork. In detail, to get a higher grade, not only will a student dive deeper into the textbook, but also he may study extra information using the search engine; on the contrary, wishing other students in the group finish the project, never can a student learn a thing for himself. Additionally, different scores for students in a group motives to study harder. To explain it further, when fearing getting a low grade and even not being able to pass this course, students who have no partner in their group to rely on overcome their laziness easily, and finish their part of the task in time; in contrast, expecting the same grade all across their group and their classmate to finish majority tasks, how can students do any stuff for their group.

What is equally worth discussing is that not getting identical scores among groups has a positive influence on student's personal development, including honing their teamwork skills and fostering their independence. To begin with, it is the different grades between members of the group that provide students with the opportunities to practice teamwork. Specifically, receiving different scores, being a fair judgment of how successful their teamwork is, creates a competitive environment for students to arrange the tasks and do their part of the job; however, never can such an environment be established, due to the unfairness felt by students who get the same score no matter what they do for the team. Furthermore, with students being scored differently, their ability to handle the task independently will be improved. In detail, tasks, which students are assigned to, and which their grades will base on, require them to tackle on their own; in contrast, with students having identical grades among the group, never will the opportunity to independently solve the problem be provided to all the students.

Academic performance, an importante aspect of students' development, will be improved by receiving different grades among the group. Personal development, a crucial element of a student's advancement, will be benefited via different scores. To conclude, only by giving students in the same group different marks can students be well evaluated.