Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want. Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children. Others think the opposite. What’s your opinion?

When it comes to the topic that giving children weekly money, some people think that parents should allocate their children weekly money, claiming that it is time-effective because kids won't bother them all the time. It seems plausible to say so at the first glimpse. However, it is not convincing enough for me to agree with them. Personally speaking, children are not allowed weekly money.

On one hand, weekly money enables children to foster negative values of money.To be specific, easy access to money leads them to squander money without hesitate, thus hard to cultivate good habit of saving money and putting money on the edge. For instance, my big sister will allocate her son some money every week so he has some freedom to buy whatever he wants. Every weekends he drops by my home, I never fail to find that he has different car mold in his hands. I ask him about his new toy, he says he buys it himself. As we all know, such toys as car molds cannot survive for long time as we might break them without intention. This behavior of spending money without plan would definitely hinder his way to financial independence.

On the other hand, children are likely to have comparison feelings. Generally speaking, we all are tempt to be someone special. If everyone around us own weekly money, we will have a desire to ask our parents to get one as well. If someone have more money than us, we tend to push our parents give us more. This scenario is not uncommon in this modern society and I am no exceptional. When I was a little girl, one of my intimate friends Tina usually got her weekly money which I did not have. When I come back home, I asked my mother to give me some money so that I can buy some learning stuff. One day I found Tina had much more weekly money than mine, with comparison feeling, I, again, pleased my mom to finance me more. During this period, what I harvested is only comparison that has negative impact on children's development.

Admittedly, having some financial freedom could help release parents' burden because they do not have to pay too much attention on what their children need. However, there is an alternative option for parents to give weekly money -- compensate what their children do. For example, young children certainly have the ability to help with some chores like washing dishes, clipping lawn and so forth. By doing so, chances are that they will cherish money they earned, in other words, they will not squander money without hesitate.

To conclude, parents are not supposed to give their children weekly money because it would contribute to negative value of money and comparison feelings. Instead, children can be compensated what they contribute to their family such as doing some chores. Only by this way, can children cultivate important outlook of money and cherish money their parents earned.