In the past people were more friendly than they are today. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

One people's relationship with others is the most important aspect of his life, and to some extent determines the life he live in. Nowadays, some people claim that in comparison with past, people now do not treat others around him friendly enough. I strongly agree with such statement for the following reasons.

With the development of science and technology, the society we live in has been becoming more and more competitive and stressful, thus, people today have to compete with other people for the limited resources. In the past, there was not so many people and the capacity of our society was so large that it can provide everybody with the equal opportunity. But now, the condition have been changed dramatically. Our society is no longer able to support the increasingly number of people. As the consequence, in order to live a better or sometimes even normal and to avoid falling behind, people now have to their best to pursue every chance to improve themselves. They might become indifferent about other people's feelings like people in the past might do. Therefore, people not become less friendly not because of selfish, but because the conflicts between the increasingly number of people and the limited natural resources.

Besides the more competitive society, the advanced communication technology have contributed greatly to the decrease of friendliness. In the past, we usually shear our feeling with person who live closely with us, like our parents or our neighbors. The more feeling we shear with others the closer relationship we will enjoy, thus, we would be more concerned about people around us. But now, the Internet have connected people all around the globe, and we seem to live in a big online community. We can chat and communicate with each other without being blocked by the time and distance. Although, it seems that we have more friends, the number of people we really care about or the people who care about us is decreasing. We no longer live together, and usually do not have the common things that we are both interested in to talk about. Nor are we willing to shearing our true feeling with others. So, the advances in the communication technology is also the essential factor that make people less friendly.

From what have mentioned above, people today do become less friendly than in the past. But, this tend is resulted from the development of society and there is no way to avoid it.