People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is not shortage of debate about the motive of why someone would pursue a college or university degree. Without no question, many people would think that attending a college or a university would improve their career while other could be attractive by the new knowledge or experiences. As far as I am concerned, I deeply believe that the most strong motivation for someone to complete a higher degree is the need of improve his or her professional career. I think this way mainly for two reasons I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, a graduate student has better job offers and opportunities than an undergraduate one. Moreover, job opportunities has usually better salaries offers for professional with Master or PhD degrees than for professional with no degree at all. Consequently, better job opportunities with better payment offers is a big motivation for people to complete a higher education. To illustrate this idea I will expose my own experience. When I arrive to Canada ten years ago, I could only access to a very low income job. As soon as I certified my university degree with the University of Toronto I could apply to a better remunerative job, and also I could submit an application for a Master. I believe that when my graduate degree is completed, I would get a new and better quality job.

Secondly, a graduate degree brings higher prestige to the person graduated. A Master or a PhD could open doors that where closed before for a professional. For example, a person could improve his or her networking and professional contacts in his or her workplace or educational area. Therefore, his or her name could become a brand itself and get invited to conferences and presentation very well paid. Once again, the academic merit of a person is very important for the improvement of his or her career.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that most of the people attending a college or a university is looking for an achievement in their professional goals. I think this way because having a graduate degree means better job offers with better payment, and also because a graduate degree would bring a higher prestige to any professional.