People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Why do people attend university? There are a number of reasons to illustrate why people attend university. Some go to university to make friends from different cultures or gain exciting experiences while others attend university to absorb a wide variety of knowledge or develop skills necessary in their future career. In my view, people attend university to learn how to make use of their own time and how to cooperate with others.

People attend university to learn how to make use of their time. Often after attending university, students will soon find out that their time is divided strictly by studies, extracurricular activities and part-time works, so the need of learning how to manage time is essential for them. For example, when I was in university, I had to study in the morning and worked at night. On weekends, I also needed to practice with my band. Therefore, I had to manage my time wisely and efficiently, or my school life would always be in a mess. Learning to manage time, as a result, is the reason why I think people attend college.

People attend university to learn how to cooperate with others. Cooperation, no doubt, is one of the most critical requirements by every job. By working with classmates on different assignments, one has a chance to learn the importance of cooperation. For example, I took a course of English Literature in my second year at university and I needed to work with my classmates on many assignments. If I didn’t learn how to work with my classmates in that time, I wouldn’t know how to work with my future colleagues. This will be an obstacle for me when looking for an employment. Learning to work in a group, therefore, is the reason why I think people attend university.

The reasons why people attend university are simply too numerous to name. In my opinion, learning to manage time and cooperate with others are the reasons I believe why people go to university.