Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

From my point of view, vacations offer students with a time for social activities and academic preparation. Some believe that one long vacation should be given to students each year, while I agree that students should be given many short vacations throughout a year because they provide students with flexibility on arranging schedules and the extra time to manage studies.

If students were given many short vacations each a year, they could have a more flexible schedule. If they could have a more flexible schedule, not only could they arrange their social activities in balance but also adjust their schedules to changes. For example, if students only had a long vacation each year, they would have to squeeze their social activities into a period of time. However, if students had several short vacations throughout a year, they could spread out their social activities evenly and save some spare vacations for the unexpected situations.

If students were given many short vacations each year, they could have extra time to manage their studies. If students are only given a long vacation each year, it is not likely that they have extra time to review all their studies which probably results in poor academic performance. For example, students normally have 3 to 4 free hours after school. The time might be too short to be sufficient for them to review and prepare for tests. Besides, some even have to attend extracurricular activities or cram schools. Therefore, an evenly-spread short vacation gives students more time to manage their studies without rush and recklessness.

There is no doubt that there are advantages if students are given a long vacation each year. However, in my opinion, several short vacations throughout a year allow students to have more flexible schedules and have more time to prepare for their studies.