People nowadays spend much more time than they should use text messages and new technologies such as social media to communicate with each other.

The first thing I do after get up every day is to turn on my cell phone and check all the messages form social apps, such as Facebook, Instagram, and WeChat, which usually take me more than 30 minutes. Through new technologies, messages can be sent back and forth with ease. Some experts, as well as the elder people, complain that social media wastes young people too much time and the young should use their time doing other things more meaningful. According to my perspective, however, it is necessary for people to spend time on social media.

First of all, the more times people use social media to communicate, the closer they are. Since the people’s jobs nowadays are with relatively less leisure time, people have few chance to meet and have the face-to-face conversation with their friends. Therefore, in order to maintain close friendships with them, it is a good way to make full use of social media. With their help, greetings can be sent between friends as often as possible and in-depth chats and discussions can be carried out frequently. In this case, both sides can feel that they are being thought of by the other even if they are unable to hang out in person for a while.

Secondly, the distance between people can be narrowed by using social media and sending messages. With the process of globalization, increasing people have opportunities to learn different languages and cultures. Hence, social apps can provide people precious chances to meet different people from various countries. I am interested in foreign languages and keep learning them, but my hometown is a small city where no foreigner lives. By using social media, I can easily find foreigners who are willing to help me to better understand and form a clearer picture of their countries. It takes me a hug amount time to ask and answer questions about them. However, I believe it is totally worthwhile.

Undeniable, indulging in using social media can cause problems of getting along well with others in real life and hinder people’s jobs. In light of the above-mentioned possibility, I suggest that the young should care more about family members and friends around them. Some things, like chatting online during a family reunion, using phones in business meetings or making foreign friends when you are having fun with friends in person, should be avoided. Thus, people may not ignore their relations in real life and only think about net pals.

In conclusion, spending time on social media is an inevitable trend in today’s society which can bring lots of advantages to people. Everybody should embrace it as long as they can remember to pay enough attention in daily life.