People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s progressive world we live, with the hectic life which every one of us is experiencing, human beings’ desire and demands have changed drastically. While some people stand to reason that nowadays, people spend a large amount of their time doing what they love, others stand at the opposite side of this continuum and believe that each person has less time to enjoy personal interests. I am of the conviction that in today’s revolutionary era, people consider their gratification as the next priority. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will provide some convincing reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the competing world does not allow people to allocate enough time to leisure activities. It goes without saying that owing to the thriving technology, jobs have become more complicated and require professional skills harder than before. Thus, if one wants to prosper in an aspect of life, ones must spend a lot of extra time to become excel in that realm; inevitably, some task has to be left. As a case in point, the university entrance exam in my country is intensely struggling. When I decided to become an excellent engineer and pass the exam, I had to cease practising the violin, which I enjoy a lot. Fortunately, I could enter a prestigious university that year. Had I not allocated enough time to study for the entrance exam, I would have jeopardized my chances to become a great engineer. It can be concluded that sometimes one has to sacrifice his or her comfort to survive in this sophisticated world.

The second equally significant reason which is worth mentioning is the idea that the growth of population and the number of metropolitan cities, attributes to wasting a great deal of peoples’ time in the hustle and bustle of the urban areas. A person living in a big city has to commute a considerable distance to go to work, university, shopping, to name but a few. This commuting may take long hours and deprive people of using their time doing what they really want. For example, my university is in the east of Tehran, and I live in a flat in the west part of this huge city. Each day that I have a class, I have to spend three hours in the traffic jam going from home to university and vice versa.Therefore, when I come back, I feel exhausted to do leisure activities.

To conclude, considering the above-mentioned reasons, one can conclude that owing to the hectic life and amount of competitions in all facets of life, nowadays, people spend less time on personal enjoyment rather than other activities.