The production and sale of cigarettes should be made illegal.

Big companies that provide cigarettes and sell this product shoul not be allow to keep on doing that. I totaly desagree with that quotes. Indeed, our society most value is to promote freedom and let anybody decide for his own.

First, to forbid the sale and production of it, would just increase blackmail without reducing the number of consumer. As it is known, human nature is such as if something is forbidden, he might do the opposite. Every drivers know that they have to respect speedlimits, but why so many of them receive a letter to pay a certain amount because of highspeed? In other words, if one’s try to limit what people are allowed to buy, consume or eather have to do, they will just stick to do what is forbidden. So, everyone should be free to decide whether he wants to do so or not, of course one’s the persone is old enough to decide. (157)

Indeed, children and minors should for sure not have access to that product. Teenagers that are under eighteen years old, should of course not be allowed to buy these products. However an age limit already exists nowadays. If you want to buy cigarettes anywhere it is ask to show an ID, in order to prove that you are old enough. Even if some teenagers succeed in getting some by using some tricky strategies. So, by the time you are eighteen, buying cigarettes should be part of you own decision, specially ones the consequences are clearly pictured on the cigarette box. (99)

By saying that a limited number of rules should exist does not mean that we have to let society lives totally free. Of course, without laws crimes and violence would be too present. This only means that, ty the time that risks and consequences are clearly showed, people should be free to decide whether they want to take these risks or not. (63)

To conlude, today society works as a free system where anybody can decide whether they want to smoke or not. For sure the behaviour of the youngest has to be limited by strict laws. However over-eighteen people should have the free choice to buy cigarettes. According to this way of thinking the more interdiction people have, the less they would want to obbey.