the school year should be rearranged

Whether the school year should be rearranged and benefit the majority of the students, has long been the center of public attention. Some people advocate that students have 9 months and then take a 3-month break, while others hold the opposite opinions, regarding 3month of school and one month of rest is the best schedule. From my perspective, I consider both reasonable, but I prefer to conduct the first kind of schedule.

Firstly, the long consecutive learning period can benefit a good learning habit more. As we all know, certain good habits will greatly impact efficacy in work and learning. K12 students, who are at the developmental stage, need to establish fixed routines and behavior patterns. Compared with the 3-month school arrangement, the 9 months learning plan needs children to spend 3 times of their time in school and then teachers can assist the good habit to form during a longer period of interaction. Similarly, university students, who enter their adulthood, require more time to build a sense of persistence and resilience. If they continue to focus on their subjects or projects undertaking, then they will better collaborate with their schoolmate or professors and assess their outcomes within a longer cycle of time. Therefore,9 monthly plan can form a good habits and boost the self-efficacy of students of all ages.

Secondly, the longer school can provide a particular scenario for students training their communication skills. If you ask, what are those most important skills crucial for the next generation to master? People are most likely to admit that communication skills can be the top 3. The longer school can provide more interaction between students than spending time home alone. With 3 months of school time, students merely start to know each other, and then the coming holiday will break new-formed regular interaction. However, given 9 month period of time school time, both kids and university students can build trust and rapport with other students. Then, under this circumstance, they will find a better way to practice their communication skills led by the proper guidance of teachers.

Thirdly, the 3-month break can offer a more flexible out-of-school learning program. The concept is that the learning process could happen wherever stimulate the learners’ motivation. Educators will arrange more engaging activities or even encourage students to learn outside school, such as traveling or camping. With higher mobility of the world population, we know travel to foreign countries is more accessible. Therefore, the 3-month-available break guarantees students a more flexible time to arrange a trip to explore the oversea countries. This will really benefit those students who like to learn from real interaction with the learning topic.

All in all, I genuinely advise the authority can prioritize student growth over other elements of school management and be more adaptive to the school time arrangement. And, 9-month learning school year play a more effective way to benefit the student's growth, considering the self-efficacy, communication skills and providing a better chance for students’ out school time arrangement.