Schools always collect information about teachers' teaching performance and give rewards to those teachers who perform well. Which way do you think is more useful?

1. to evaluate teachers' performance by students

2. to evaluate teachers' performance by teachers

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, with the ever-rising funding distributed to the tertiary education, schools initiate to pay more attention to their teachers’ performance. With regard to the evaluation of teachers’ performance, some individuals reckon that since who the teachers’ performance is geared toward is students, the student are supposed to evaluate teachers’ performance. While others consider that students are not mature enough to evaluate the teachers’ performance, hence their colleagues, other teachers ought to be the individuals entitled to assess their performance. Personally speaking, assessing teachers’ performance by students is the optimal approach and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To start with, since students have witnessed the teachers’ performance displayed in the class, like their teaching expertise or teaching styles, they are more likely to know teachers’ quality of their pedagogical methods. Compared to other teachers, who merely get along with the evaluated teachers after class, students can qualify the evaluated teachers in divergent dimensions on the basis of their interaction in class, like teachers’ pedagogical methods, the teaching styles or the helps they afford. For instance, when I was in high school, a evaluation of teachers’ performance was held, which involved both teachers and students. During the evaluation, all of my classmates gave a score according to the principles required by my school. Conversely, when it come to the evaluation between teachers, they did not comply with the disciplines of score, neither because they were afraid of spoiling their relationship between colleagues or due to their ignorance of other teachers’ performance in class. This experience illuminates that merely students are capable of giving score to teachers’ performance due to their realization of teachers’ performance and their unbiased status.

What’s more, the evaluation from students is also a terrific guideline for teachers to adjust their syllabus or teaching schedules. Therefore, those teachers receiving glorious comments or score are not only afforded with the sense of fulfillment but also offered with the incentives and enlightenment to adapt their pedagogical process in varieties of layers, thus a virtuous circle can be formed to accelerate the advancement of schooling quality. The research conducted to evaluate the reputation of schools demonstrates that those schools amassing feedback from students tend to obtain high prestige since their students are more satisfied with the arrangement in school and their academic performance is usually enhanced after studying in those schools. In conclusion, receiving feedback from students is conducive to maintain the well-being of schools and boost the advancement of students’ academic performance.

Admittedly, evaluating teachers’ performance has its perks. Since sometimes, the students with disruptive behaviors may harbor the resentment toward their teachers, hence they may intentionally lower the score of the teacher’s performance. Nevertheless, the prejudiced behaviors can be eliminated by implementing stringent principles to inform students that they are obliged to score teachers abiding by the principles and any behaviors that intentionally to interfere with the rudimentary order in school will be punished.

In a nutshell, the evaluation from students is supposed to be regarded as the bedrock to allocate rewards to the well-performed teachers, since they are more objective to examine teachers’ performance and their feedback toward teachers are conducive to improve the quality of schooling.