For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

The school as an academic center, the main responsibility of which is to prepare students for having both a successful profession and personal lives. Experiences acquire at the school make students decide their path and make a progress day in day out. Some people argue that teachers should be evaluated by other teachers. On the other hand, some people take a radically different view and point out that it is better to assess a teacher by students. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that although the idea of both teacher and student is considerable, students spend most of their time with their teachers and are familiar with different hallmarks of their teachers. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, it is established beyond doubt that teachers play a consequential role in every given society because they are pillars of the society. Indeed, hardly can any society make an impressive progress without the presence of teachers. Generally phrased, teachers should be experienced and knowledgeable enough to educate crowds of children. So, their evaluation by students plays a key role in teachers' performances because not only are students familiar with teachers' style of teaching but also are able to assess them vigorously and successfully. As a palpable example, students spend most of their time at schools and are in a close contact with educators. Therefore, they are acquaintance with teachers' hallmarks, characteristics, methods, style of teaching and so forth. To elucidate more on this issue, students will be able to offer an impartial judge when it comes to teachers' evaluation because the only thing which is important for students is to improve education by the help of teacher's knowledge.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance on this subject is that evaluation by students would have a profound impact on the performance of teachers. If we take a minute to ponder over it, some teachers might pass the buck and do not carry out their responsibility precisely and completely. So, it will prevent students from making a progress because the teacher is not familiar with his career. Somehow, a negative assessment by students not only can shock and stir up the teacher to shift the style but also can provide support and incentive for the teacher to do his best. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that being evaluated by students is largely beneficial for teachers because it provides an opportunity for the educator to distinguish their positive and negative factors.

However, every coin has two sides. The startling fact which flabbergasted and bewildered me is that teachers only take students' assessment into consideration. Indeed, a plethora of students evaluate teachers based on their scores they receive. For instance, if they gain a high score, their evaluation is positive. Otherwise, the evaluation will be self-oriented and unuseful. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my personal perspective.