For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

In this progressive and sophisticated world, educational matters play a significant role in the lives of human beings since they mainly determine the level of success and progress in societies. In this matter, being taught by skillful teachers who are able to convey their messages effectively is of high importance. While many people hold the opinion that students themselves should evaluate a teacher`s ability, others believe that other teachers should assess a teacher`s teaching skill. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter perspective and believe that teachers should express their opinions about the skills and abilities of their co-workers and be assessed by each other. The reasons to substantiate my point of view is elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, I am of the opinion that students are not mature and informative enough to be able to assess a teacher`s teaching skill fairly. To put it in other world, they might take into account some personal opinions for evaluating the capabilities of teachers which are not accurate and realistic. For example, When I was a high school student, although schools mostly assessed their teacher`s teaching efficiency by a committee made up of some experienced and knowledgeable teachers, our school decided to try a novel policy. The administrator asked us to select the teachers we were eager to be taught by them according to our experience. This posed numerous problems since students not only could not adjust their selected teachers but also most of them were willing to eliminate some teachers solely owing to being punished or being assigned with multiple tasks by them. Consequently, the selected teachers were not the best ones because they had been chosen based on criteria which had nothing to do with teaching capability. Hence, most students suffered from that new policy, and their grades dropped dramatically. Had we not been able to choose our teachers according to our thoughts, we would have not experienced those tough days.

Moreover, teachers mostly are aware of the pivotal and fundamental teaching skills and abilities that a skillful teacher should enjoy. To be more specific, they spend a great deal of their life not only majoring in this field but also communicating with various teachers. My mother`s experience is a compelling example of this notion. She is a high school teacher who has been working in this filed for years. She works in a popular school in which at the beginning of every semester, some of the other experienced teachers and she gather together to assess their school`s teacher`s performance. As a consequence, that school enjoys the best teachers who are able to interact with students effectively in not only educational issues but also extracurricular activities. I think without asking other teachers to express their ideas about each other that school was not able to become that much well-known.

In conclusion, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I think teacher`s teaching capability should be assessed by other teachers, not students. This is because not only students are not able to evaluate teaching skills since they will utilize items that are of trivial importance, and in some cases are biased but also other teachers are more familiar with teaching skills.