Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many controversies over this issue whether students should evaluate their teachers or not. Personally speaking, I agree with this statement. Of course, we have to face it that no one is perfect and everybody has some good and bad features. But evaluation could make the good features outweigh the bad features. Also, student evaluation could be helpful for everybody; for students, for teachers, and for school administration as well.

First of all, the students could benefit from student evaluation because they would let their teachers know about their habits, hence they would try to work on them. For example, when I was in high school we had a teacher who had a really bad habit of speaking very loudly. The tone of his voice was naturally pitched high and it was so annoying that I always wanted to cut off my hand just to have something to throw at him. The worst thing is nobody dared to tell him about it because he was brutal and tough person. But fortunately we were given a chance to evaluate our teacher. We gathered together and decided to give him a holistic, fair, and not rude feedback about his screaming in order not to offend him. But everything was for the best and our teacher took our feedback easy and said that he would try not to shout. As you can see the evaluation can improve the teaching process, can make class environment more friendly and comfortable for students by a polite and inoffensive feedback about bad habits of the teachers given by students.

Also, the teachers can benefit from student evaluation. Many students complain about ineffective and inappropriate teaching style of their teachers. So, teachers can enhance or change their teaching method by given feedback. There are many teachers in the world and all of them have a certain approach to teach the students. Obviously, not all of them are perfect and work on all students. Therefore, the student evaluation is a good opportunity for teachers to improve or remove some aspects of their method. Or in some cases to change the method.

Last but not least, the evaluating method can provide the schools an effective method for evaluating the performance of teachers. Currently, many schools mostly use academic results as the sole criteria to judge the performance of teachers. However, the evaluation method can help to judge teachers’ progress and abilities in a more holistic way by incorporating various parameters in the evaluation. Also, the evaluation will help schools in deciding rewards, bonuses, and raises of their teachers for being in a constant progress, for trying their best the whole year.

To sum up, from my perspective many schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers because as we have seen above it’s really helpful and useful for teachers to know their bad habits and some ineffective aspects of their teaching style by given student feedback. Also, it’s good for schools to see the progress of their teachers and to reward them for their hard work on their drawbacks.