Should the government support artists or should the artists support themselves?

When it comes to whether artists should be supported by themselves or by the government, people often possess different perspectives. Some people agree that the government should offer help for artists, while some insist that the artists themselves should earn their own livings. Based on my personal experience and observation of life, I agree that the government should support the artists.

First of all, art is essential to most, if not all, people. Although most of us are not conscious the existence of it, art actually prevails our lives. For example, in the morning, the alarm wakes me up. The music of the alarm is a form of art. And as we walk on the streets, we see all kinds of street artists performing. In movies, TV shows, and on the internet, there are art such as dancing, singing, music playing, painting, architecture, etc.. Furthermore, art can relief one’s pressure, and lower the crime rate of a local area. For example, a survey conducted by the National Taiwan University shows the relationship between the crime rate and the frequency that people go to an art gallery. The more often people go to an art gallery, the less likely people commit crime.

Secondly, artists are easily influenced by the condition of economics. Art is usually not the first priority in the government’s budget. And when the economics condition get worse, people would reduce their spending on art. For example, in 2000s when the economic depression hit the world, many artists were forced to abandon their career and find another job to survive. My friend Frank was a street violinist before the depression. During the depression he was forced to quit and worked as a factory laborer. After the economics regain vigor, he couldn’t go back to his street artists again, since he had been lack of practice for too many years. It is really a pity to lose such a great street artist. If the government could have supported Frank, this wouldn’t have happened.

In addition, artists can help his/her nation to gain reputation. A world renowned artist can easily win worldwide media spotlight. And the world can quickly understand where this great artist came from through understanding the artist him/herself. The government should seize this chance to win reputation by supporting artists of their nation. For instance, the multi-talented mega star Leehom Wang who came from Taiwan, made Taiwan a quite famous place among the world. World wide media network such as CNN and BBC even made a special topic on him and Taiwan. The profit and fame that the Taiwan gained from this kind of media coverage is enormous. That’s why the government should keep on supporting and cultivating these successful artists.

In conclusion, based on the reasons and examples listed above, I believe the government should support the artists.