Some children prefer to socialize (get together and have fun) after school with very little involvement from parents or teachers, for example, they enjoy games or activities that they can organize and play safely without help from adults; Other children prefer to socialize after school by joining groups or participating in programs organized and monitored by adults. Which way of socializing after school do you think is most helpful for children development? Why?

After a long day studying at school, young kids frequently have some free time to attend various activities that can enrich their life. Whether parents should be involved in those programs has been brought to the attention of the public. Relevant authorities are urged that parents should monitor and organize activities that their children join. However, from a personal point of view, I think that playing independently would be more beneficial for the development of children.

Firstly, enjoying games beyond parental supervision can cultivate children’s independence. It is tempting to think that if adults could monitor everything that happened to their kids, there would be no safety problems occurring. However, this is the one side of the story. As a matter of fact, parental involvement is not conducive to the development of youngsters’ independent personality. Because when the youth can organize activities solitarily and figure out all the difficulties that they encounter within the games by themselves, they could grow more quickly and gain achievements. For example, nowadays many kids like to play a kind of game named Civilization, which has numerous intricate levels to go through. When children meet some challenge that they could not work out by themselves, they would try other methods like searching for information on the Internet, asking advice from former players and attempting diverse efforts to overcome them. Eventually, they obtain success and gain a sense of achievement. During this process, the youth exercise their ability to tackle problems and these precious qualities would play a great role in their study.

In addition, without the involvement of outsiders, teenagers could develop deeper friendships. Friends, the people who can share happiness and sorrow and offer solace in the bad times, undoubtedly play an indispensable role in children’s lives. Plus, the ability to build a tight tie with peers can never be neglected. Playing together without parents’ involvement, kids definitely have more chances to talk about their studies, hobbies and even saddest things with each other. As a result, they may find the most appropriate fellows during this time. But if parents show up at the event, there would be another consequence since not all teenagers could tell others the essential parts when their mother or daddy is around. For instance, I have several really good friends. When we were at a young age, we shared our secrets with others, such as the gossip of teachers or even the conflicts with parents without presence of adults. But if parents show up at that moment, they would educate or criticize us. Thanks to that time alone, I built an intimate relationship with them. Therefore, leaving young offspring alone is good for cultivating their friendship.

Admittedly, without protection and monitoring from parents, children may meet some problems like they may get hurt and they may be deceived by strangers. However, if parents could check the safety of the place where the children play to make sure there is no danger and even install surveillance cameras. I do not think there will be much to worry about.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, I hold the view that parents should not be involved in their children’s activities, just give the youth more free time and also free them up.