Some people say that computers have made life easier and more convenient. Other people say that computers have made life more complex and stressful. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Ever since the computer has been made easily available for the public, there has been the never-ending debate about the advantages and disadvantages of the use of computers. Of course, as is the case with everything, computers have both advantages and disadvantages. I am of the opinion that the effects of computers on us and society in general depends on how we make use of it.

First of all, we will look at the advantages. Computers have helped ease our lives in many ways. For example, by using computer software to record data, such as hours worked, can allow us to quickly and accurately calculate the total wages we need to pay. This also means that there is no need for payroll clerks to manually calculate wages for us. This saves costs in terms of payroll clerk wages as well as time spent manually calculating and correcting errors.

However, this also means that computers have obliterated many jobs leaving people unemployed. This is one of the biggest drawbacks of the introduction of computers in the workplace and this situation is only getting worse as we have entered the fourth industrial revolution. This means that employees need to remain up-to-date and gain beyond basic computer skills in order to survive. Ultimately, this helps us in the long-term, as people would have more skills to operate and understand new technology once it is introduced, saving costs in the long-term and improving efficiency.

The other area that has been dramatically affected by the use of computers is the education system. The increased use of computers in schools, colleges and universities has improved the lives of many students as well as teachers. Homework and assignments can be sent online, collaboration between students is easier, distance-learning is possible, online classes can be recorded and sent and the list goes on. The use of computers and online learning was highest during the pandemic and its benefits were quickly realized.

But as always, with advantages, there are also disadvantages. As students were usually left unsupervised, it was easier for them to get distracted. Some students would turn off their cameras and do whatever they want. They may play video games or watch videos and get away with it. Now with easy access to AI, some students use it to their detriment, such as generating essays for university with little effort and minimal input.

In short, there are two sides to a coin. As technology advances, the effects it has on us, whether beneficial or harmful, will also change. It is on us to choose the side of the coin. With the right mindset and strong resolution, we can avoid the dark side of technology and use it to our benefit. Only then can the advantages of computers outweigh its disadvantages.