"Some people think that family is the most important influence on young adults. Other people think that friends are the most important influence on young adults. Which view do you agree with? Use examples to support your position."

Adulthood is the most crucial time in a person’s life because it is during this time that their characteristics and personalities are created. The environment where young adults live influences their life. Friends and family play an important role in the lives of young adults which can affect them positively or negatively.

Positive relationships with parents and siblings help young adults grow mentally and physically strong. Young adults look up to their parents because it is from them that they learned to talk, behave and conduct themselves. Moreover, parents should be mindful that their actions can be replicated by their children since children spend most of their time around them. For instance, when parents raise their children in an authoritative environment, they are also encouraging them to be independent, set limits and boundaries. This type of parenting leads children to develop better traits such as leadership, self-control, and self-reliance. In light of these actions, I believe that family is the one that influences the most in young adults' lives, so that is why families should make sure to be able to grow children in their best adult selves version.

On the contrary, friendship is not always beneficial for young adults because some friendships can be toxic and stressful. Also, when teenagers have not had a well-structured childhood, they are open to any temptations, for example, they can be manipulated easily by their friends. Moreover, some friends can have bad habits using substances such as cigarettes, alcohol, drugs, and so on. If children are living in this type of environment, they can be dragged into as well. Unhealthy friendships could also bring more consequences to young adults' for example lowering their self-esteem impacting negatively their future. Furthermore, lower self-esteem can reduce the quality of life in many different ways, including negative feelings, constant self-criticism often these can lead to persistent feelings of sadness. Consequently, young adults who do not have the right guidance in their childhood might find life challenging.

Overall, all families should be aware that they are the first teachers for children. That is why it is very important to raise children in a safe, loving, and pleasant surrounding.