The Strong Force
Originality or authenticity are relative topics that depend on what do you want to talk
about. The exact definition of originality is the ability to think independently and
creatively. That means that two people could talk about love in two totally different
contexts and still being original stories because they have different content. So to clarify
and resume when you are talking about two stories’ general topic and in both cases is
love, that is not original, because is not someone’s idea, is a reason of life every human
feels about something even once in life. But if such as my love story is about a boy
that has just four years to live and another story in comparison of mine is also
about love but that talks about old school love, then, in that case, we are both original
because my story is from my creativity like hers too. Willa Cather wrote a quote that talks
about the absence of originality but also about how people do not get bored. To
understand a little better we must compare the quote with the strong force to understand
why people never get bored with the same themes in movies, books or even in songs. A
great introduction!
The quote Willa Cather wrote is “There are only two or three human stories, and they
go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before.” What this
quote means is that exist just countable themes to talk about, and that people use to
create art in general, but also that people never get bored and actually wants it like
something they have never heard of. We as human beings just can talk about what we see
or about what we think which in essence is the same in everyone but just the themes. For
example family is general but there are people with no family, there are people who have an
entire family or that consider friends as family and that part depends on the person and
on what that person lived and lives, basically experiences. People write about what they
know.
The strong force is a chapter of a text called Master plot 20 written by Ronald Tobias
who explains in this chapter how to build a story with the basic themes that still an
intriguing story. First explains every author needs and have their own way to write and even
if they are similar would never be the same. People write according to their vocabulary
and their experiences but even if two people write about exactly the way they express and
the real message they want to give would never be the same. Authors need to find and
a unique way to write a story with the purpose of getting someone’s interest. Also, a writer has
to focus on the structure of the story so what the story says needs to have originality in a
part. The plot needs to be built with own experiences or own ideas from creativity.
Maybe there are a lot of love stories about sick people who suddenly were no sicker,
the originality is in the person that took the risk and made in his story that the cycle of life
win and killed the main character. But then you see a lot of those stories but someone
says why not in this case this sick person falls in love with a serial killer. Your story could
be exactly the same but if you use your own idea and develop your creativity you will have
relative originality.
Even when the general theme is the same as all the world stories you can still explore
your creativity and create a story full of originality. In my experience, I think we read
in books perspectives of life and even in a zombie movie there is always a human topic
based on what we see or live every single day. Because art is the way we express what
sometimes words cannot or even things that just cannot be explained.