Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often viewed as a bad quality for a person to have, but in fact, it is a good quality for a person to have.

Use details and examples to explain your opinion.

In my opinion, I do think it’s a good quality for a person to take a long time to make important decisions because it indicates that we take the question seriously and consider a lot of impact factors which may affect the outcome once the decision made. The reasons are shown as below.

Firstly, the important decision does mean a lot to us, it will have advantages if decision make is correct, but many bad things may happen if the decision making is wrong, so we have to take it seriously and spend a longer time than the decision making which is not that important. Take, for example, if we plan to apply a graduate school, we need to search online to check all the information about the school and major we want to apply for because it’s really important to our future career. However, if we decide suddenly, we may not like the school or the major even we are successfully accepted by this program.

Secondly, it’s a good personality for individual people to spend more time on important decision making because it indicates that this kind of person is full of responsibilities, it would be more reliable for this person to handle important assignments. Take, for instance, it would be better if the mentors of our Ph.D. program spend a lot of time to consider the direction we need to go, set the goal we need to achieve as well as design experiments well for us to conduct. These kinds of mentors will help their students be more successful, which, in turn, the good reputation will attract more students with good qualities to join in the lab. Otherwise, the students may fail the program easily or spend more time to graduate, which, in turn, will spend much more money to carry out the project out. And mentors would lose good opportunities to recruit students or postdoc in the future.

In summary, only we spend more time and take everything into consideration, we can make the right decision, which will work out as a good result.