TOP38

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern century, having the power of leadership would be a very useful characteristic for the people. Most of the people think that leadership comes naturally and one cannot learn to be a leader. I agree with this idea too. Let me give you some reasons and examples:

First, I think that every person was born with specific temperament and characteristics. As psychologists say today, a newborn baby's mind is not like a clean whiteboard with no concepts on it. Although people could do a lot of things by only learning how to do them, most of the things have genetic sources. So, most of the characteristics and talents are transferred to a child by genetic cells and they can be improved and developed if they have been learned professionally in the future. In other words, these heredity characteristics could become better and professional in the future by learning new extra things. For instance, If a child has not the talent for leadership, he cannot be a professional leader just by learning the techniques. Whereas, a child who is gifted by the characteristic of leadership, could be a professional leader if he learns extra things to be an expert leader.

Second, leadership is a characteristic which needs high intelligence and cleverness, especially emotional intelligence. People with high emotional intelligence could understand other people's emotions and can have an empathetic behavior across them. This empathetic behavior will direct people to obey this person. In other words, we tend to obey a person who understand our feelings, our issues, our difficulties, and our goals. This kind of talent (empathy toward people) can not be learned. It must be a part of you. Let me give you an example: please consider Gandhi (an Indian leadership. He was so popular among the people, because he was so clever and compassionate, and knew how to treat the people, how understands them, and how express his feelings to them. So, they knew he understands their situation. Because of these features, he was a famous and celebrated leadership for Indian people.

Finally, my idea is closer to the naturalist of leadership power. As I said, the people are earning the talent of leadership by genetic cells and they can improve it by learning the more details and techniques of being a good leader. In addition, a good leader is an empathetic and smart leader. Being empathetic toward people and understanding their feelings and goals is not the stuff earned by just learning. It is genetic.