Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Determining whether leadership can be learned or it is a natural skill, is an important matter. Knowing this would help educational and governmental organizations to decide if they can train someone to be a good leader or it is waste of time. Some people may think that leaders are born to be leaders while other would disagree. In my opinion though some individuals have this ability naturally, but it can be achieved as well. I think this way because of two important reasons.

The main reason is that the leaders have specific psychological characteristics which can be imitated and learned. Like every role in society, leaders have some specifications such as discipline and charisma in common which makes them a leader. According to an article I have read, almost every psychological characteristics can be imitated. Everyone can learn to behave and react in specific ways which will gradually make him to gain a desired specification. For example, one of my friends was used to get angry very fast. He was somehow born in this way and his biology leads him to be in this way.

Once, I recommended him to consult with a psychiatrist who give him some special trainings and asked him to do certain tasks when he gets angry. These trainings helped my friend to become a calm person which surprised everyone. This experience taught me that psychological characteristics are achievable which can help someone to be leader.

The other reason is that I think that everything can be learned by experience. With exposure to different situations, one learns different things. When someone work or act as a leader or in his place, he encounters with different problems in which he acts in certain way and as a result, faces with its positive and negative consequences. Hence, this experiences would help him to learn how to react and behave in a certain way to be a good leader.

To sum up, though, some may disagree with my opinions, but I deeply believe that leadership can be gained and its characteristics can be learned. Not only are psychological characteristics achievable but also experience will somehow optimize one's behaviors to act as a good leader. I think researchers should investigate leaders' common characteristics and the methods that yields to them.