TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that television advertising is beneficial and that it makes their life easier which i agree with. But I also agree with the opinion that television advertising directed towards young children should not be allowed for the following reasons.

First, children at age from 2 to 5 years are usually attracted to the television and the cartoon shows, but at the same time they can not make an informed decision. When kids see candy or toys advertisements they get attracted to them and keep looking for these candies or toys even though it might be harmful for their age. For example, when my brother was 3 years old he saw an advertisement for a hard candy so he went to the kitchen and grab one of those hard candies and put it in his ears which might have caused major ear problems.

Second, Some children products such as medicines and vitamins should not be allowed to be advertised as this increase the chance of people buying these products just because they had a good marketing. Not all children are the same, some products may work for some children and some other products may work for the rest of the children. The child health has a big impact on that person's health when he or she grows up, that is why medicines and vitamins should only be given under medical supervision not only by good advertising.

Third, As a pharmacist, I have seen many mothers come to the pharmacy and buy some vitamins or medicines for their children without going to the doctor. Television advertisement made them lazy to go see the doctor to get the right information which can be dangerous on the child as they can get an over dose or under dose or even the wrong medication.

In conclusion, When we weight the benefits against the risks of television advertising directed toward children we can see that It has more risks than benefits for the child That is why I agree that this should not be allowed specially for critical products like medicine and vitamins.