TPO 13 independent writing Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Living in a lively family that has a lot of members is most of the western people’s fancy of Chinese family. However, in my opinion, the importance of the extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

First of all, lots of family members move to urban area nowadays to seek for jobs which the relationship of the extended family are faded. For example, my dad was growing in a big family that relatives were living closely in Hualien. The big family was formed since my great grandparents. After my dad graduated from the university, he decided to move to Taipei for a job position. Not only my dad, all the third generations of the family were moving out to different cities for their career. They only meet during festivals. This situation make me and my cousins are not familiar with each others which is so different to my father and his cousins’ relation. If it is no longer easy to support our family members since we are not staying close, the importance of the extended family can’t be seem as important as in the past.

Secondly, family members are easy to become financially independent nowadays, so they tend to pursuit their ideal lifestyle than living together. For example, in the past, it was not common for women to have their own job. As the result, they lived with their husband’s family even though the living habits were so different. For woman who were not married also used to live with their parents. However, since more and more woman are joining the work place, they would more likely to form a small family of themselves instead of bearing the different living habits. That is to say, the extended family are gradually becoming not acceptable when people are having other choices.

Admittedly, in Chinese culture, relatives that we have blood relation are always close to us. We are taught to respect to and take care of our extended family members no matter how far we are. Nevertheless, if I try to define how important the relatives are, I find out that I rather seek for help and share my thoughts to my friends than them.

In conclusion, the importance of extended family are diminishing due to living apart and being financially independent.