TPO 13

Do you agree or disagree ?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past?

Nowadays, no one can deny the importance of family. Some people may hold the opinion that extended family is not imprtant as the past. But others have a negative attitude. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with the first opinion because, obviously, if you have larger family then you have more friends, happier life and you can learn more thing during your life. I will try to exmine my specific reasons for the importance of having large family according to which I think are the most common viewpoints today.

First let us look at what a person can typically gain in largher family. It goes without saying that, larger family means more friends. Having more friends causes less bad feeling in your life, and you do not have to spend your invaluable time alone. By way of illustration, I live in a culture that having large family is prevalent and there is good relationship between grandparents, cousins and other members of extended family. So, I have many friends among these people. In other hand, my classmate in university has a very smaller family and he think he become isolated from other people because he has not more friends.

There is also a more subtle point we must consider. Related to my first result in extended family you have more and more enjoyful times. Due to have many friends, you can experience more disport and recreate. Assorted factors makes our life more desirable if we be relate with another members of extended family. Take our family for example again, we often go to many places such as cinema, park and shopping together and it is useful and help for having high quality of lifestyle.

Finally, I cannot oversee the fact that if you have more family member near to you and communicate with many of them, you can learn many valuable lessons from their experiences. To shed more light on the issue, according to the result of the study done in Tehran University, not only extended family help you to have better social ability in society, but also it aim you to have less mistake in your dicisions because you can learn from others about thier faults and mistakes.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general rule, I do agree that the merits of extended family is more than its dismerits. To recapitulate the reasons, not only extended family help you to have more friends, but also it is useful for happeir and joyful life and learning many experiences.