TPO 38 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

leadership plays an important role in the society, as the world requires leaders to manage. leadership is defined as the ability to be a leader or the qualities a good leader should have. Determining whether leadership is a naturally occurring or acquired is an important issue, as this will decide whether we should devote as much resource we devote now into the training or leadership. I believe leadership is a natural ability. I’ll delve into my argument in the following paragraphs.

leadership is summed up into two parts, the ability of that individual, and the ability of that individual to lead the group in any situation.

To begin with, the ability of the individual is important in order for the others to obey the leader. To become a leader, a person must play a vital role in a community of people. For example, in a soccer team, the leader of the team is usually one of the best players there. In a rock band, the backbone is usually the lead singer, which have the best musical talent. those particular skills in those particular fields are fundamental factor that influence the distribution of authority in those groups. Even with the best abstract quality, such as communication skills and the calmness when facing problems, a person who’s skillset is deficient to have major influence on group of people will not become the leader. However, those musical or sports gift is with no doubt an innate skill, so that implies that leadership is also an innate skill.

Furthermore, the abstract qualities such as the planning and decision making skill which accounts into leadership are also quite unattainable skills. there are critical moment where the natural ability to lead that will differentiate the leader from the others in a group, because all those critical moments are unpredictable. unpredictability of of those moments mean that it is almost impossible to train for these situations as there is no way to mimic those situation so that people can get ready before hand. this is when instinct of leadership take possession. For example, how a verbal expression can encourage one’s teammate is never taught in a book and I believe no leaders have actually had anyone telling them how to convey their thoughts to be persuasive. They just naturally know what to do, as if it is a part of their genes. Another example of this is in a group of children, different child take different role in playing, and some of them naturally become leaders. children don’t have leadership training, and some of the have the leadership attribute. From this, we can deduce that leadership is an innate skill.

To conclude, I believe leadership is a gift that cannot be taught. if leadership can really be taught, there will be countless leadership training course in the education process. also, there are no way that everyone acquire leadership, and everyone become leaders.