TPO 38 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People hold different attitudes towards whether one can naturally be a leader. In my opinion, I absolutely agree with the statement that any one of us can learn to become a successful leader in our life. There are 2 reasons supporting my views which will be explored in the following essay.

First of all, leadership can be defined as how one person guides other people to do specific tasks. As such, the leader must know exactly what requisites are needed and how to get the tasks accomplished. These things certainly can only be obtained through learning and experience. There is no way that a company director guarantees the stability and prosperity of his company without having sufficient knowledge on cash flow, human resources or administration. My own example exemplifies this idea. I joined my company ten years ago as an entry technician. After years of working, absorbing knowledge and instructions from my previous supervisors, I gradually became group leader and now head of technical department. This example clearly shows that my current management position is an outcome of continuous learning.

Secondly, capability of inspiring other people is one of the most important characteristics of leadership. Therefore, it is indispensible to have effective presentation skills so that you can inspire or persuade others. Those skills certainly do not come naturally. In stead, they are the result of attending training courses or learning from other people. My current company president is a compelling example. He is the third son of a poor family with low education background. However, he focused his time and energy to acquire professional knowledge and other soft skills including speaking in front of public and effective oral presentation. Consequently, he has the ability to inspire other employees and even this boss. Gradually, he was appointed as chief executive office and later president of our company.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that leadership is an inherent power. In stead, my vote is given to the fact that this valuable capability is built based on our continuous studying from schools and other colleagues throughout our career.