tpo-40

From a general standpoint, no one can cast doubt on the fact that children, especially school-age ones, should be appreciated for their success and achievements. With this in mind, it is not surprising to notice that like all prominent issues, some of its facets are subject to discussion and contention. For example, is it a plausible way to offer children for getting every high grade in the school has been a subject of controversy. Some parents are those who are of the opinion that giving money to children for their success in the school would be useful. I personally dispute it. In what follows, the rationale behind this point of view will be elaborated by focusing on two axiomatic reasons.

One reason worth mentioning here at first is that having a great performance in the schools is the first and most important duty of the school-age children. If parents give their kids money for each thriving success, they will be used to it and expect this money is their right. Thus, when they take their responsibilities, they look after money. Take my cousin as an example. He is a 13-year old boy. His parents offered him money for each high mark he had gotten in the school. Now, he expects his father should pay money for buying things needed for the house; he expects 10 percent of the purchased things as his reward.

The second reason that occurs to my mind is that although parents should value their kids' impressive achievements, the money is not a preferable reward. Provided that children in that age are bereft of a developed ability in recognizing what is useful for them, giving them money may have unintended negative consequences. My experience can shed light on this opinion. When I was 14 and passed the final exam with great performance, my father offered me a substantial amount of money. I spent all that money on purchasing cards, nearly 8000 cards, which are completely futile. Recognizing the disadvantages of this approach, the next year, my father gave me 7 books as the rewards that I already have them and enjoy from reading them.

In conclusion, it seems more judicious to say that offering school-age children money for each high grade does not sound good; not only does this approach enhance their expectations but also children in that age cannot spend their money in a right way.