TPO-41: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that teaching is considered as one of the noble professions a person can choose. The question is whether teachers are being respected as same as in the past or not. No one can deny the fact that there are both agreement and disagreement on the fact to some extent. However, in my opinion, I believe that they are not being appreciated and valued as they were used to be. I think this way for several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, teachers have been found involved in several abusive situations to the students in recent years. These hideous activities led the people to change their attitude toward the teachers from good to bad. For example, five years ago, when I was in Dhaka, studying my undergraduate course, a teacher had been found to be involved in the sexual harassment of a girl he was supervising. The teacher used to call her in his room at a time when most of the students were not in the classroom area and tried to touch her in a negative way. When the girl complained about the teacher to the authority, an investigation committee was formed and the teacher was found guilty. This incident fomented ill humor among the students and it changed the way we looked at that teacher as well as people started to question the honesty of the teachers.

Secondly, many intelligence agencies have to treat all the students equally. But nowadays this general expectation is not meeting and people are degrading the teachers day by day. I’ve to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. For instance, when I was in my fifth class, I used to get higher marks in mathematics than my friend, Kajol. In the final exam, all of a sudden, I was not getting a passing mark while Kajol scored near a perfect score. When I challenged the scrutiny board, it was found that I was deliberately scrutinized that way. This experience of mine has changed the way I respected the teachers.

In sum, teachers are being less respected and valued than they were used to be in the past as a result of their own derogatory activities. If this cycle continues, one-day people will look down in contempt towards the teachers