TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

It goes without saying that in todays' world, the importance of friendships in providing a joyful life is deniable. While some people believes it is better to keep a frindships for long term is resulted in more joy, the others hold the view that the ability to make many new friends conveniently is a key factor for the happiness in life. Personally, I am of the former group's point of view. The reasons substantiating my standpoint will be explored in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, a long friendship bring more intimacy between friends and intimacy has a pivotal role in the bringing happiness among the friends. To elaborate, the old friends have a lot of communal good memories together, In other words, they were being together in the sweets and bitters of the life which make a frindship so strong and intimate. As a result, when these friends spend time together thay can recount these memories and have a good time with each other. However, the new friends usually have no old memories together and they usually talk about current affairs which they are not usually exciting. As we can see, the good and bad memories which are existing among the old friends bring the warmth in their friendship which really necessary for the happiness.

In addition, The old friends who are the products of maintaining in a relationship, are more reliable. To elucidate, old friends feel a kind of bound among themselves which have a root in the long time that they have spent together and this strong tie provides a feeling among them that when they get stuck in a hard situation in their life they can ask for help from their friends. Thus, this sense which you can rely on your friend provides happiness in your life. For example, considering someone has monetary problems due to the loan that they have took from the bank. In this situation, they can ask their old friends for loaning some money; however, it is imposible to ask a new friend for loaning some money.

As shown above, considering all the points and reasons mentioned, one could concude that remain in a friendship in the long run bring more happiness for individuals. It is because that not only are there intimacy among them, but also they are more reliable.