Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Different individual has different characteristics. It is hard to make a simple and absolute conclusion for every individual just according to some phenomena, especially for human being. Thus, in my opinion, the statement that young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives is not fair and objective.

First of all, everyone has his own situations and properties. I admit that some teens are good at making decisions, but others are not. This is because there are so many factors to determine characteristics of a person, such as education resources in his community, economic power of his family. Moreover, even though they are twins in a family, they could be different in their views for this world. Therefore, how is it possible for every young adult to have a good ability to make decisions for his own life. Different people have different abilities in different levels.

In addition, some parents still have major influence on children's desicions. Education is a very good example. With the increasing importcance of education in such times, parents pay more attention to cultivating their children. Some parents with high-thinking and open mind tend to believe their children and give them enough freedom. However, some parents behave oppositely. They always want to plan a bright future for their child. Walking on a seemingly easy road, how could they become good decision-makers. For instance, those students involved in the America's college admissions scandal may be not able to make decisions about their universities, let alone make dicisions for their own lives. It is hard to say that they are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Besides their parents, there are many other factors to affect young people's decisions. Especially in this time with a highly sophisticated technology, information travles at a surprisingly high speed, whether thay are true or not. People are easily influenced by the information from surrounding people or on websites. What's more, according to psycologists, young people are more prone to follow it and make decisions based on it, because they have not wholly developed their ideals and values. This can partly explain advertising effeciency and success on the youth. Their unwise and excessive consuming is a kind of reflection of their decision-making disablilities.

I believe that some young people are better decision makers, but they cannot represent all the peers. After all, they have different personalities, and there are so many factors to influence their decisions.