When you give money to the charitable organizations, would you prefer to choose how the donation will be used (for example, donate money on food, service or advertisement for organizations) or leave the decision to the organizations?

Charity and donation seem to be an undividable part of social life nowadays. Charitable organization provides effective help to the needy in time. Some people would like to donate the money and leave the decisions to the organizations to spend it. However, from my point of view, I would prefer to choose how the donation will be used.

To begin with, deciding to choose how the donation will be use is more efficient and effective. To be more specific, people should do some investigations and search on the information on the Internet before they donate money in order to maximize the degree of helping others. A genuine example is the year of 2004, when a large scale of earthquake happened in Wenchuan, China. People worldwide are will to offer help and offers money to the Red Cross. Actually, what local people need most is water and food. As you can see, contribute money blindly is inefficient and not desirable.

In addition, this approach will give people a sense of achievement and inspires others to do the same thing. For instance, I used to help an elementary school student who live in rural regions. He lived in a family of poverty and his family could not even afford him to go into junior high school. Since he was eight years old, I gave him one hundred dollars every month to meet the tuition fee of a local school. Finally, he graduated from his elementary school and went to the best local junior high school in this town. He studied hard and got scholarship from his school and now he didn’t need my donation any more. However, he still writes letters to thank me and tells me about some exciting things he met in school. That give me a sense of achievement and the story moved the people around me a lot. Now, they all begin to do donation and connect directly to those people they would like to help.

Admittedly, leaving the decision for the organization to consider may be more direct and convenient. Nevertheless, virtuous donators and benefactors should keep their eye on it because of the charity fraud. Some bad charitable institutions would use the money people donate to make some misguide investment and fill their own wallets, instead of buying necessities for the needy. As a result, it would be better for people to choose how the donation will be used.

In conclusion, it seems to be plausible and wise for people to choose how their money for charity will be used, rather than leaving the decision for the organizations to consider directly.