which is the event exerting the biggest influence on your country?

Vietnam is my motherland, which is a picturesque and dynamic country. However, its present appearance cannot be achieved without occurrence of several events. Many Vietnamese appreciate the importance of our victories against two giant countries in the 20th century. However, I consider the reform in 1986 as the one that has a major effect in my country and will support my view by reasons and examples in this essay.First and foremost, the reform changed people lives thanks to the opportunities it gave. In fact, before 1986, Vietnam was a publicly state- owned economy, and private sector was prohibited. In addition, the government ensured people’s lives thanks to providing all the products they need by using its distributing system. However, the problem was that the distribution based on the equal rule, while people’s demand was dissimilar. Consequently, the provided goods was not enough for a number of people to handle their lives. Fortunately, in 1986, the government decided to make a transition from a highly centralized planned economy to a socialist-oriented market economy, which recognized more than one business sector, including business ran by people. Therefore, this policy made people’s increase, so they did not have to suffer from as numerous difficulties as they did before. Furthermore, giving people that chances, the government could have more time to face other problems, such as medical, education, etc…Second, the reform made Vietnam closer to other countries. The policy allowed an “opened” country, which is suitable for foreign investments or co-operated projects. As a result, there have been more jobs for people, and the appearance of our country also changed because of many mordern buildings or skycrapers. Furthermore, private companies’ demands of having good employees led to opportunities for Vietnamese students to study abroad. Take myself as an example. I am preparing for the TOEFL test to be eligible to study abroad. If I was a student in the 1980s, it may be impossible for me to do that. In conclusion, I appreciate the government’s decision on facilitating transformation in 1986. Although many people may have other choices, I still strongly believe that the reform make people’s lives brighter.