Which is more important for a leader:

the ability to win an argument about an issue or the ability to help others come to an agreement about an issue?

Being a leader is not an easy job. In order to address the followers, a leader must understand the scenario and work accordingly. The subject whether a leader should win an argument or get to agreement about an issue is quite debatable. In my opinion, a leader should assist others come to an agreement. I believe this for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, when a leader tries to reach an agreement, he also succeeds to content everyone. That is, reaching an agreement makes everyone feel satisfied. As B.P Koirala has said, “the work of a leader is not just to move in-front of the followers but also to show right direction.” My personal experience is a great example of this. The argument whether the school should allow students bring mobile phones at school became a hot topic when some of my friends used the violent way to express their opinion to the head teacher. I, being students’ representative had a duty to address both sides and reach to the conclusion which should have satisfied both parties. Hence, I called for the meeting of administration and students and the meeting got to the conclusion to let students use mobile phones at school but under the surveillance of teachers. For this reason, a leader should try reach an agreement to satisfy others.

Second, a leader when attempts to reach an agreement, he/she can know the issues of both debating parties. To be more specific, being a leader and listening to the arguments between both parties, the positive and negative sides of the argument can be known and the decision can be made accordingly. Drawing from my personal experience, our municipality once had debate on to which contractor the contract to build school building should be given. Among two proposing contractors, one had an idea to build modern building with high tech equipped features whereas other one had an idea to build a traditional style of building with earthquake resistant structure. Listening to both parties, analyzing each party’s concept, the municipality reached to the conclusion to build high tech equipped building. Hence, it is clear to see that a leader when tries to reach an agreement, can analyze the aspects of both debating parties.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a leader should develop an ability to come to an agreement about an issue which serves positively for everyone. By doing this, he/she can satisfy everyone and at the same time, he/she can listen to overall aspects of the issue. Therefore, if I were a leader, I would definitely choose to reach an agreement to an issue without winning an argument.