Would you prefer to live in a traditional house or in a modern apartment building?

Modernist architecture began to change the idea of what a house could be at the beginning of the 1920s. Therefore has dominated the world of architecture and traditional dwellings. When looking for the perfect home, one has to decide on both buying a traditional house charmed with history, and maybe spider webs or a modern property and enjoying the technology. If I had to decide, I would prefer living in a modern apartment because of 3 reasons for maintenance, building materials, and floor planning.

Newly built homes will need almost zero renovation works to be done. Essentials like plumbing, heating and ventilation equipment or air-conditioning in a new apartment are high-tech and do not need extra cost for fixing or maintenance. These equipment are manufactured and provided by standard guidelines provided by experts in international organizations like LEED thus they are durable and long-lasting and one major benefit is their guarantee provided by their manufacturing companies. For example, my family and I were living in a traditional house and every now and then we had to fix the plumbing or the lightings and electronic equipment. Besides the heating technology used when building our house was not comparable to the new high-tech and efficient equipment used nowadays. If we had chosen to fix or renovate the equipment it would have been costly.

In addition, floor plans in modern-day buildings are different from traditional houses. A traditional house would give us more rooms on each floor and more areas in every room. Living in a standard room with minimum space needed in a modern-day apartment may seem at first counter-intuitive, but we have to keep in mind that we are living in the era of climate change and global warming which requires the need for zero energy and optimized architecture. For example, the total area of exterior walls is relevant to the energy-wasting through the walls, therefore the more the total area of the exterior walls, the more energy is wasted and the more heating and cooling equipment need to compensate.