You have long been friends with someone. If they do something that you don’t like, should you still be friends with him or her?

Throughout history, people due to social nature have been inclined to establish various kinds of relationships. One of the most important relationships is friendship, which is of significant effects on diverse facets of life. In this regard, there is a controversial issue that whether we should break up with our friends if they have different points of view or make a mistake. Some people believe that friendship is not equal to have exactly a similar mindset and we should accept each other with differences and continue to be friends. I strongly concur with this idea, and I will shed light on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

The first salient aspect to point out is that, contrary to common belief, disagreeing about the same subject is not always bad. Indeed, various outlooks open the door to be familiar with varied subjects that we might never face them if we lose touch with our friends. Moreover, knowing about divergent views leads to having an open mind, which helps us to rightly make a decision in other parts of our life. Thus if a friend does something that is opposed to our beliefs or ideas, we should not just continue to be friends with them but also look at it as an unrepeatable chance to learn a new thing. Take a political election as an instance. It is obvious that everyone has a different political viewpoint. Conversing with our friends about different parties and evaluating the strengths and weaknesses of each one helps us to vote consciously.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that living peacefully with people with different viewpoints and forgiving their mistakes are the skills that let us mature emotionally and mentally. In fact, these worthwhile skills are necessary to integrate into society and be successful in our social life. Needless to say, friendship serves as a place to practice and learn these two significant skills. According to a psychological study conducted in a distinguished university, people who have friends with dissimilar beliefs and appropriately deal with all of them are accepted more in society, so they thrive in social life. Professor Jackson, the head of the study, says that “the more people properly manage the differences, the more opportunities they get in their life”.

To top off the discussion, it is necessary to know that disagreements and mistakes are not judicious reasons to break up with our friends. If we learn to manage our friendship with differences and difficulties, not only do we have a chance to experience new subjects, but also we can develop our personal skills to tranquilly live with other people in a society. Therefore, I highly recommended that we take advantages of disputes and blunders to grow our personality and our mind.