Younger children should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history?

The major goal for students to go to universities is to pursue a successful career in the future. Recently, a heated argument on whether students should choose a university who provides good job opportunities or to go to a university who has famous professors. Differences of universities lead some to place less weight on the education, while others insist the professors are the key when applying a university. In my opinion, as far as the effectiveness of advanced education, focusing on the future in the long run, students should try to be get admitted to a university with famous professors.

On the one hand, the primary goal of general education is to lead people to discover their own interest, do find out where their passions lies. Being a student in a lecture given by famous professors is more likely to identify our interest, because famous professors are able to give insights and comprehensive overview of the whole area. As the old saying goes “interest is the best teacher”. Evidently, the vital step toward a person’s success is to have an emotional preference. A person who has his true interest will devote himself to the career he loves, therefore, a continuous efforts will be paid to develop his own interest. Find a good job after graduate is a piece of cake to those students. Take Charles Darwin as an example, how is famous for his masterpiece entitled on Origin of Species. At the University of Edinburgh, the true interest in natural science he found during his college lead him to quit his medical studies and explore nature instead. Furthermore, later at Cambridge continues to evoke his passion in nature, finally his tireless efforts paid off. The example of Charles perfectly demonstrates the significance of interest in our career.

On the other hand, a university with famous professors provides more passivities for students in their career development. It’s true that many students tend to find a great job after they graduate, but there are still a large number of students who are eager to academic field. It’s the university’s responsibility to guarantee that every student are capable to find their position. It’s easier and convenient for students to apply their target graduate schools if they have experience with famous professors or get a strong reference letter from them.

Nevertheless, a voices arises that famous professors does not imply that they are credited with their excellent lectures, you might learn nothing even living in the hell when you are unable to follow the fast speed. Ironically, this point is not hold under meticulous scrutinization – while some famous professors is indeed known for their terrible teaching, a majority part of famous professor is credits with their inspiring lectures. Overall, the possibility of encounter a bad teacher is relatively low in a university who has famous professors when compared with those who don’t.

To sum up, I believe my perspective that go to a university with famous professor is better than a university whose graduates have terrific job opportunities has been fully discussed by the reasons and example mentioned above.