Your friends have the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

1. A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly).

2. A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

It is inevitable that every student needs to face the problem about choosing the major that is suit for themselves. Therefore, it raises the question that the students should choose the major that allows them to finish the study sooner or the major that need study longer but can provide more employment opportunities. I take the position that my friend should choose the long-term major.

First of all, the major reasons for students to enter the university is to get a decent job in the future, so choosing the major that can gain more employment opportunities is more appropriate. On the contrary, if the students only want to get the degree, then it loses the meaning for students to study hard in the educational institution. Take myself for example. In Taiwan, we need to pay a lot of tuition to enter the university. Hence, when I enrolled in the school, I decided to learn more in the university and find a high-salary job in the future. Due to this determination, I concentrated on my study for about five years. Even if my leaning was longer than others, I learned my major deeply and broadly, causing me to find a good job successfully after graduation.

Furthermore, if students can study longer in the school, they could get the newest information and catch the trend around the world. To elaborate, because the university has countless opportunities cooperating with the government or company to make the new research, the students in there can easily understand what are people around the world interested in. Take my father for example. When he was the university student, he worked with his professor for about six years in the lab. By conducting those newest experiments, he understood many new theories and innovative design in the world, which was the basic knowledge for him to find a decent job.

Many people may argue that the students should go working as fast as possible because they can enhance their working experience early. However, I insist that although the working experience is important, we cannot overlook that the main reason why students can find a good job is their ability. Thus, if students can cultivate their working ability in the long-term education, they can become the asset that every company desires it. In contrast, if they only finish their study quickly and do not learn the unique knowledge, they cannot stand out from the public and need to meet serious competitive.

In conclusion, I hold the belief that my friend should choose the major that requires many years of study but can provide him more employment opportunities because it not only is the main reason why students go to the university but also can help him catch the world trend.