Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the work place, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

In today’s corporate world, there is an ongoing debate on age discrimination for employment and promotions. It is irrefutable to say that person’s age decides the position in company. Considering this, there are some analysts who hold an opinion that age discrimination against older workers should be made illegal; while, others opine that age discrimination occurs for promotions. In this essay, I will discuss both the aspects and lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, many experts believe that age discrimination occurs when the employee is an elderly person. Upper age group people have vast experience in their respective field or profession and they can also provide trainings and mentor the young candidates recently employed in the organization. For example, a 60 year old doctor can treat patients in much better way than a young graduate doctor who has just started his career.

On the other hand, there are myriad reasons why age discrimination should not be made illegal. One of the conspicuous one is the drastic growth in new technologies. Due to advancement in technologies, many elderly people are not familiar with the software’s or other working principles of the same. For instance, if there is new upgraded software recommended for the accountant section in an organization, then only the fresh graduate of young candidate can get familiar easily with working principle. Moreover, most of the companies want their employees for long term employment, and if a company will recruit a 58-year old person, then he will retire after approximately 2 years.

To recapitulate the foregoing discussion, it can be concluded that age discrimination against employment and winning promotions should be made illegal as organizations can benefit from the experienced elderly work force.