Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about age discrimination and if it should be viewed as a legal or illegal act. Some people believe that older workers should be positively discriminated, but others think that it is not acceptable and it should be illegal as well. My view is that age discrimination is not moral and it cannot be allowed by companies. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view analyzing both side of the argument.

There are several reasons why age discrimination is not acceptable and it affects work environment. One of them is that discrimination against older people affect young employees negatively. Not only their concentration, but also their mood will be affected during positive discrimination against older. It can also be argued that generally older people have enough money to live at the end of their life. So, companies do not need to make any extra incentives to them. It should also be taken into account that older employees use these additional right wrongly and it can break peaceful environment in the workplace.

Those who support age discrimination have different view and say that it can be actually a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that elderly employees need more care and money to support their financial status. Their expenses are much more that regular employee. Moreover, they have much more experience than others and it is worth to earn much more them.

While there are strong arguments on both side of the case, my personal opinion is that age discrimination should not be allowed because of working environment peace and lack of motivation in the work place. I would strongly recommend that employers should behave equally to all their employees, if they want to increase their productivity.